Church of Dzordzor is located in Maku County, West Azerbaijan Province, near the Baron village. The chapel was built from 1315 to 1324 by Zakarya, the archbishop of Thaddeus church and used as a religious, cultural, and literary school under the vision of Hovanes Yerznkatsi, an Armenian scholar who lived in this church in 1341 AD, later he was named as Tsortsoretsi. The structure is a compact and single building that is like a prayer hall and designed like a cross. Dzordzor Chapel was built with several large shaved stones in different volumes without mortar. The interior of the church consists of four vault and four windows in each sides with a dome. In 1987-1988 AD following the construction of Maku dam for irrigation of the farm lands, the church was relocated to another location. They had to move the building about 600 m away from its original location and then move it about 110 m higher than the previous altitude. The building was successfully located and the newly built dam added to the beauty of church by creating a breathtaking view.